top of page

Cruise the Keys

Saturday we made the drive up to Keyesville, CA and explored the beautiful venue on our pre-ride. The course was scattered with elegant wildflowers, grazing cows, and challenging single track. Then it was time to cheer on the Corona Composite jr highers once again. Young Blake Wray took another dominant win in the expert boys category, and Ethan and Jake took a 5th and 6th in the novice class. This progression in our young riders is what will keep them coming back for more and ensure the future of CCMTB,

Saturday night some of the team members and families went out to an Italian dinner in town, and the "kids table" had the best game of truth or dare. We were laughing so hard I was worried about being fatigued for Sunday! This is what mountain biking is all about. Not just race results, but also the camaraderie of the weekend spent with teammates and family who tell stories and share secrets that make us cry laughing.

 

Since Vail, I've been putting in long hours on the bike in preparation for WEMBO 2017 (24 hr solo world championships). It's an unfortunate coincidence that my cross country mtb season interferes with my endurance training this year, but I'm taking it in stride and making the most of it. Usually I'm eager to hop up and get the race day going, but I didn't come into the weekend with my typical high expectations, so Sunday morning I had a hard time getting out of bed.

Nevertheless, I vowed to give it my all.

I got in a good warm up and headed to the start line. We were off, and I could feel from the first pedal stroke that my legs were just not in it. I was surprised to find myself leading the pack through the feed zone and river crossing. The water must have shocked shocked my legs into action, because all of a sudden I was motoring up the first long climb. I glanced back to see Gwendalyn Gibson on my wheel as expected. She was racing her full-suspension, so I set my sights on getting to the single track first.

At the top of the killer climb I had a small gap, but Gwen quickly closed it on the downhill. I led the rest of the first lap, then let her pull going into the second. I took a couple glances back throughout to confirm that we were alone up front. I quickly realized It was going to be another tight one-on-one battle.

Gwen got to the single tracks first on the second lap, and each downhill she'd grow the gap between us. I'd start closing it on the flats and uphills, but she grew it again on every technical descent. The spectators were telling me she was only seconds ahead, and I managed to get within a bike length of her at one point, but during the last long downhill section of the course she got away and took the win.

I'm satisfied with another hard-fought second. I never gave up, even when I couldn't see Gwendalyn around the next turn. I sprinted to the finish line and left it all out on the course, earned points to help Corona Composite claim another 2nd place finish, and yes, I got to chase the cows around afterward.

Another epic weekend is in the book, and I'm excited to see everyone again at Vail Lake in two weeks!


bottom of page